July 2018

We had a great time. Bonnie did a wonderful job, very knowledgeable. Would definitely book through you again.
Thank you.

July 2018


My wife and I we were hesitating about taking this tour , we thought we can save $200 if we do it on our own but we took a chance and oh my God that was the best decision ever made . the tour was so wonderful and worth every penny of it The host , The tour guide person made it so wonderful , easy , and enjoyable and she seemed like she was really really care about showing us most of everything that we could ever seen. I came back home to Minneapolis and telling everybody about how The tour is and I strongly recommend it to everybody visiting Mountain Rushmore. We would like personally thanks Billand Bonnie for the wonderful adventure.

June 2018


We had a wonderful day with our tour guide Bonnie. She was great! She was very knowledgeable about the area and shared so much information. She showed us things that we would not have seen if we had been on our own. She shared many stories of the attractions that we would have not otherwise known. Great day with many memories!

June 2018


Great tour guide. (Troy) great experience and awesome sceneries.
Thanks.

June 2018

We could not have asked for a more perfect tour. I gave Bill a list of places and things I would like to see and we saw it all plus more. Thanks Bill!

May 2018


Had a great time. Bonnie our tour guide was fun and informative. Very glad we booked this tour

Sept 2017

Our tour guide Bonnie was absolutely wonderful, she kept the interesting facts coming as we rode along and made the trip very fun and entertaining. She went out of her way to make sure everyone touring saw buffalo at least once in our trip, it didn't matter that we were a bit behind schedule cause that little part of our trip made it worthwhile!

Even though the tour was quite long it went by surprisingly fast! It was great that there was a tour that enabled you too see all of that stuff, because to be honest it might have been hard to see all of that while driving around ourselves so it was great we could sit back and enjoy the ride!

My family and I would 100 percent recommend this tour to newcomers in South Dakota, it's a great way to see a lot of the famous sights. And a plus was that the bus comes and picks you up where you are staying, so that removed the need to drive to a meeting point. 

August 2017

On time pick up, gave some background and info on what we would see and what we should do. Driver, John, was great. It was so nice to sit back and relax and enjoy the scenery without worrying about driving and getting to places. Loved it would do it again. Thank you!

Sept 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour, and the tour guide (Bonnie McMillan) was exceptional. It was evident that Bonnie was very knowledgeable about local attractions and she took the time to point out items of interest to the tour group. We had ample time at the various stops along the tour and we had a great lunch at the Custer State Game Lodge.

I would highly recommend the tour to anyone visiting Rapid City, SD and I would recommend that they request Bonnie as their tour guide.
T and R Holder Benbrook, Texas

June 2017

... so will just email out thoughts on the all-day southern Hills tour with Bonnie last Wednesday...........it was wonderful and truly the way to see the sights with neither of us having to drive.
The added attraction of the 4 mountain goats that tied up traffic on the needle highway at one of the one-way tunnels was just an extra bonus. We enjoyed every minute of it ..... thank you so much.
Bill and Jody Fuller Clark, SD

Sept 2017

 Hi Bill and Bonnie. I'm sorry I have taken so long to write, but I wanted to let you both know how well everything went on my recent trip to SD. I was there during the first week of September and took the Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park and Crazy Horse tour with Bonnie. > Bonnie, you are a great guide and a lovely person. I enjoyed spending the day with you.
 Bill, you took all the worry out of my connection to and from Deadwood--even having to leave at 3:45 am! > Thank you again!
J Landsberg


JoAnne........thanks for taking the time to give us your input for our Southern Hills Tour. We are so glad that it went well for you. We most certainly appreciate your business and will continue to work hard to keep it. I have already passed this note on to Bonnie.
Tour guides love responses like yours. Very much appreciated. If your ever back in this area, bring a friend and take the tour again. We do have many people that return and take the tour numerous times! Hope your winter goes well, and thanks again JoAnne! BILL

June 2017

Dear Bonnie, I just wanted to express to you in writing how much I enjoyed the day. It was much more than just looking at Mount Rushmore, Custer Park and the Crazy Horse Memorial. The company and the commentary were most enjoyable. You may remember that I asked you who was Alex Johnson. Well, I was curious and went to the web.

I thought you might enjoy reading the following two snippets that I lifted. This is from The Dakota Years of Alex C. Johnson: A Memoir, published by the South Dakota State Historical Society in 1991. Alex Carlton Johnson, railroad executive and pioneer South Dakotan, was one of the state's best-known citizens by the time of his death in 1938. In the course of his long career with the Chicago & North Western Railway, he rose from poverty and obscurity as the station agent at Raymond, Dakota Territory, to company vice-president with headquarters in Chicago, Illinois. His name is often associated with the Rapid City, South Dakota, hotel named in his honor.

There, in the penthouse suite at the Alex Johnson Hotel, he spent part of the last eight years of his life penning his memoirs, a portion of which are presented here. This was also on a page from the South Dakota Historical Society describing the Alex Johnson Hotel. Construction on the Alex Johnson Hotel, one of Rapid City's grandest landmarks, began in August 1927, one day before workers began carving the granite faces on Mount Rushmore.

On July 1, 1928, the hotel's first guest to sign the register was Paddy O'Neil. The first-floor tavern is named in his honor. Alex Carlton Johnson, vice president of the Chicago & North Western Railway, wanted to build "The Showplace of the West." He did. The building reflects both Native American culture and the Germanic Tudor architecture of South Dakota's German immigrants. The Alex, as the locals affectionately call it, has hosted presidents, politicians, movie stars, rock stars, honeymooners and tourists. During the carving of Rushmore, sculptor Gutzon Borglum could often be seen sitting by the fireplace in the lobby.
# # # # # 
So, in the rare event that you ever encounter someone again who asks about Alex Johnson, there's the story.
Your love of the wildlife in the park was contagious. I thought you might like seeing the picture I shot. 

dtours1
So again, many thanks for a splendid day. 
W Peters, Philadelphia, PA

June 2017

Bonnie, our tour driver and guide was very pleasant, friendly, nice, and knows her history of Mt Rushmore and South Dakota. Very good driver, too!

June 2017

Bonnie came on time for our first tour. She made us feel welcomed and at ease with her friendly smile. She is knowledgeable and good at her job. She is a patient and kind person.

July 2017

Bonnie was a fantastic guide. Lunch was terrific as were other guests on the tour. Great experience.
Carol and Jon from South Australia

July 2017

My family including 7 of us. Daughter, Husband, Son-in-Law and 3 grandchildren took the Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Needles Hi-way and other stops tour. Our guide was Bonnie, who did a wonderful job of driving and keeping us informed of everything of interest along the way explaining the tunnels and turns as we went. She has a great deal of knowledge about the Black Hills and explained everything. She seemed interested in us as a family and made sure everyone was happy.

She made sure we found the herd of buffalo in Custer State Park and even provided carrots for our youngest grandson to feed the donkeys. Would highly recommend this tour. She was punctual when picking us up at our Hotel in Keystone. We also did a custom tour the next day with us going where we wanted.

Since I had grown up in the Black Hills near Deadwood, we went there and also to Lead. The Information Center there is very informative and explains all about the Homestake Gold Mine and its history. John was our tour guide and driver that day and did a wonderful job of taking us where we wanted to go and picking us back up when we were ready. Even off the main road to find my old home place. Would highly recommend the custom tour if there were specific places you wanted to go. All in all 2 wonderful days with Discovery Tours and no worry about driving or finding a place to park!!!! Can’t get any better than that.
Dorothy and family from Texas and North Carolina

Sept 2017

Totally enjoyed this tour, everything about it was great especially Bonnie. Will definitely use you again...

August 2017

Very good service and we much enjoyed your telling of the history of the area. Thanks Bill! Got a little wet a couple of times but all in all the ride went well. We enjoyed it. Katy trail in Missouri also went well and we saw the total eclipse in a clear sky. Both rides a great adventure.

September 2017

Bonnie is an awesome driver and guide. She made the tour a memorable experience. Discovery Tours has excellent customer service.

September 2017

Bonnie was great. Very knowledgeable thoughtful and considerate of us. Couldn't have asked for more!

September 2016

Our tour today was absolutely wonderful. Bonnie was great. Her wit, knowledge and driving ability really made the tour an unforgettable experience. It was truly a memorable time for us. Please thank Bonnie again for her skills and efforts.
Joan and Charlie Schlesinger

We had a WONDERFUL time

Bill, I would like to say that we had a WONDERFUL time on our tour with Lloyd. He did a great job and was so very kind. Bonnie was a very nice lady. I can appreciate the times that he gave some pointers for her when she will be on point.
We could have never found the right times and places in the time that we did with Lloyd. The views were so great. All we could talk about was we felt very safe with him driving and showing us around.
Again, I thank you and your staff for such a wonderful adventure! We have already told people who to call and get arrangements with your services. We just might see you at another time. Thanks for great memories!
Jo J Johnson and family.

Bill

I would like to thank you so much for such a wonderful time we had using your tour and our guide" Lloyd" was the Greatest! He was so kind and courteous to us ladies from Texas. Looking forward to another time we might get up there again and we are sure that we will call you for our tours! Thanks again for a much enjoyed tour of South Dakota. Would and (already have) given your tours a great big PLUS to do.
Jo-J Johnson
Beaumont, Texas

So thankful to have this shuttle service when I needed it!! Pleasant trip to Edgemont to pick up my car. Thanks, again!!!

Bonnie was fabulous. Such a great tour. We had a wonderful afternoon seeing the sites.

Janet and Bill,

On June 14, my husband Gary and I took the Mt. Rushmore/Crazy Horse tour with Troy. Thanks to him making a few "off the beaten path" stops, I was able to get some incredible photos. The attached ("another face in the crowd") is one of my favorites, and I entered it in one of our local county fairs. The Erie County fair is the third largest fair in the U.S. so the competition is fierce. I was thrilled to receive a ribbon for my entry and I'm thrilled to share it with you. Please thank Troy for his fantastic tour and photo ops. Have a great rest of the summer. Lee (Eileen) Wekenmann
 meehan

Hi, Bill.

We're home now and will talk about the tour for years to come. I already have an old classmate coming in that direction and referenced you to her. Pat

Our tour guide Bonnie was absolutely wonderful,

she kept the interesting facts coming as we rode along and made the trip very fun and entertaining. She went out of her way to make sure everyone touring saw buffalo at least once in our trip, it didn't matter that we were a bit behind schedule cause that little part of our trip made it worthwhile! Even though the tour was quite long it went by surprisingly fast! It was great that there was a tour that enabled you too see all of that stuff, because to be honest it might have been hard to see all of that while driving around ourselves so it was great we could sit back and enjoy the ride! My family and I would 100 percent recommend this tour to newcomers in South Dakota, it's a great way to see a lot of the famous sights. And a plus was that the bus comes and picks you up where you are staying, so that removed the need to drive to a meeting point.

Took tour today

Bonnie was amazing very knowledgeable. We enjoyed the wonderful lunch. And the breathtaking sites.
Thank you Colin n Ev Campbell Chilliwack BC

On time pick up, gave some background and info on what we would see and what we should do. Driver, John, was great. It was so nice to sit back and relax and enjoy the scenery without worrying about driving and getting to places. Loved it would do it again. Thank you!

Discovery Tours Van With Elysia

We went on a Discovery Tours van with Elysia. Elysia is one of the best tour guides I've ever encountered. We were picked up at 7:30 am and had a wonderful 11 hour+ day seeing many wonderful sites. We first went to Mt. Rushmore and had an hour to spend viewing that beautiful mountain sculpture. Then on to Custer National forest where we saw pronged horn antelope, buffalo and deer. We then had a nice buffet lunch at the lodge. After lunch it was on to the needles highway where the tunnels for the van were pretty tight. Elysia had about 2-3 inches of room on each side. The views were stunning. After that we went to the beautiful Sylvan Lake, then on to the Crazy Horse monument for about 45 minutes. The Crazy Horse monument is a 'work-in-progress' that may be finished by the time our great great grandchildren are born.... We finished up the day at a winery with some free wine tasting..... The grape Calamity Jane wine was good. Kind of like grape juice with a nice kick. Again, this was a wonderful tour and many kudos to Elysia!!!

Troy was great!

Troy was great! Made our first day in SD a memorable one.

Bonnie was a terrific tour guide.

Bonnie was a terrific tour guide. She was courteous , informative, and kept the vehicle moving and interesting safely. You can tell she enjoys the area and her job. Not all Business are fortunate to have all these qualities in an employee.

Troy our tour guide

Troy our tour guide gave us an exceptional tour and was able to answer our questions about the places he took us to and more detailed information than we expected.

Lloyd is awesome!!

One Day

We only had one full day to explore the Black Hills so a tour was a logical choice. Joe made the trip very entertaining and informative. Thank you very much!

Hi Bill

I took the Discovery Tour June 22, 2016 along with 7 other people. I think I speak for the entire group. Our tour guide was Lloyd Rich. He is a most informative person regarding the history of South Dakota. You might say, "A Walking Encyclopedia". He was so attentive to us the entire day. I will definitely recommend Discovery Tours in the future and tell them to request Lloyd Rich as their guide. Yours truly, C McKinley

Lloyd was spectacular

Lloyd was spectacular and a true joy to lead us. He obviously knows the area; we learned much. He had an "assistant" to learn re the job and he was doing a great job. This tour was worth the fee. I will be recommending to friends and locals.

"We Liked the Discovery Tours the Best"

We had a great time. The hotel was wonderful the scenery was very beautiful. Our tours that we booked were great. We liked the Discovery tours the best. People were very friendly. The van had an extra step in so my wife could get in and out the van easily. Hart and Fran

"Lloyd Was Very Informative"

We had a wonderful tour with Lloyd last Friday. We really enjoyed the tour to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and the Custer State Park. My husband got to enjoy the scenery and take lots of pictures and he wouldn't have been able to do this if we had gone on our own. Lloyd was very informative and we really enjoyed our day. Thanks! B Varvel

"Fantastic Tour"

Just wanted to drop a quick note letting you folks know our tour today was fantastic. My mother and I enjoyed it very much. John was also very entertaining and made the day very interesting. I will definitely recommend you guys to anyone who is coming to this area. I myself plan to return soon and will again take the tour. Thanks for a great day. Darcy & Paulette

"Awesome Tour Guide"

We took your tour on September 29th an it was awesome – our tour guide was great and we saw and learned so much – totally enjoyed the day! Thank you!! Kathy

"Relaxing Ride to the Airport"

Bill and his wife were early to pick me up and, although there was about an hour drive to the airport, they made my ride the most relaxing I had in a week of traveling. I enjoyed their company and will recommend them to everyone. The next time I am in SD I will be calling them.!

“Best tour, passionate tour guide, reasonably priced”

Reviewed May 19, 2015
 

We went on a tour with Karen (Kare Bear) as our tour guide and had an awesome packed day of scenery and history in the Black Hills, South Dakota. She is very knowledgeable about botany, geology, history, legends, and is very willing to share all her stories of the area and the amazing sights in the parks. In an 10-hour day with hotel pickup, we saw Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park, a buffet lunch, Needles, Cathedral Spires, Crazy Horse and more. Could not have been as time efficient and learned as much had we done it on our own. Would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling to the Black Hills.

Visited May 2015

“Ask for Kare Bear, terrific tour guide”

Reviewed May 6, 2015
 

On Friday May 1, 2015, we had had one of the best tours we could have hoped for with our visit to the Black Hills -- tour guide was knowledgeable and fun. We learned more about the area and attractions than we ever could have on our own! Well worth the money!

Visited May 2015

“Best tour ever!”

Reviewed October 12, 2014
 

We had the best tour guide ever! Karen was so knowledgeable about the history and attractions in the area. She loves her job and it shows. The tour was chock-full of attractions and she timed each stop perfectly. It was well worth it and we'd do it again in a heartbeat.

Visited October 2014

Discovery Tours - Badlands

Reviewed September 14, 2014
 

On Sep 9, 2014, we had a wonderful tour experience with Karen (Kare Bear) as our guide. My husband and I have never had a tour guide with so much knowledge of an area. Karen made our tour extremely enjoyable. The lunch at Custer State Park was very good. We had nine tourists in our group with plenty of room in our van. Karen made sure to stop often for picture opportunities and just to give us a break. She provided water and soda free of charge. Our trip covered all the major attractions. We saw buffalo and wild burros which was great fun. I would recommend this tour to everyone who visits South Dakota. Thanks Karen, Wayne and Pat

Visited September 2014
Visited October 2014

Let them do the driving

 
Reviewed August 20, 2014
 
My wife and I chose to use the Black Hills Discovery Tour to see Mount Rushmore and The Crazy Horse Monument and Museum. We got a lot more, including buffalo, Rocky Mountain goats, Rocky Mountain sheep, pronghorn antelope and deer. We were able to view all the scenery of the spires on the needles road and not have to navigate the roads. We ended with free wine tasting before we were delivered back to our hotel. What a great day. Our driver (Karen) was extremely knowledgeable and helpful.
Visited August 2014

Excellent job, John!

 
Reviewed May 24, 2014
 

The whole-day trip with this tour guide from Discovery Tours was marvelous. Mt Rushmore, 3 pigtail bridges, 6 tunnels, wildlife, excellent buffet lunch in the nice restaurant, the Needles Highway, Crazy Horse monument, wine testing in Hill City - we covered all of that in about 8 hours. Thanks for being so nice to us.

Family of 3.

Visited May 2014

Best way to see the main attractions - great value for money

 
Reviewed October 2, 2013
 

We recently took the Southern Black Hills and Mount Rushmore Monument Tour and would highly recommend this company. The tour lasted around 12 hours (including pick-up time) and you definitely get value for money - we covered around 300 miles. Our guide, Karen, was very friendly, informative and knew a lot about the area and showed us some hidden gems i.e. Mount Rushmore 'framed' by the tunnel - anyone driving by on their own would not have seen this. Lunch at the lodge was very high quality, plentiful and varied and included drinks. We had plenty of time at each stop, even making impromptu stops to see animals that were roaming around the roadside. The day was ended perfectly with wine tasting. The owner of the company, Bill, was very accommodating and all bookings were confirmed by email. He also runs a taxi company, Dakota Taxi, who we used to get to and from Rapid City Airport. Our driver when we got there, Ray, was also very friendly and gave us some great information. Would recommend all their services highly.

Visited September 2013

Discovery Tours - Southern Black Hills and Mt. Rushmore

 
 
Reviewed June 29, 2014
 

We booked the Southern Black Hills and Mount Rushmore Monument tour by Discovery Tours that covered Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Iron Mountain Road, Needles Highway, Sylvan Lake, Crazy Horse, and a wine tasting at Prairie Berry Winery. We decided to book a tour rather than drive, and we're so glad that we did. Our driver and tour guide, Wes, handled the switchbacks and hairpin curves of the hills much better than we could have and provided a bounty of information along the way. We were able to sit back, relax, and enjoy the day.

We were the first to be picked up and the last to be dropped off, so we were on the tour about 10 hours. Wes allowed us about an hour and 15 minutes each for Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse, which was the right amount of time to see the orientation films and to go exploring. When we left Rushmore, his drive along Iron Mountain Road took us several places that offered unique views of the monument that we wouldn't have found on our own.

In Custer State Park, we weren't having much luck finding buffalo, so he made an extra effort to take us down roads less traveled until we came on a small herd and were able to get amazingly close to them. While we were in Custer State Park, we had lunch at the State Game Lodge, which is on the National Register of Historic Places. The buffet, which was included in the tour price, was fantastic. We were even allowed to go check out the unoccupied rooms at the lodge for a time travel back to 1920s privilege in the wilderness.

It would have been nice to spend longer at pretty Sylvan Lake than we did, but it was raining by that time, which prevented us from getting the full experience anyway. But the only real disappointment of the day was the wine tasting at Prairie Berry. The winery specializes in making wines that blend grapes and berries that are native to South Dakota, which produces unique but not necessarily good wines.

A couple of things to note: While the van is large, it has four bench type seats, and it may be hard for some people to make it in and out of the last seat. Also, there was a slight discount if you pay cash. You might want to ask about these things when you book your tour. We had no issues, though, and highly recommend this tour as being well worth the price. Kudos to Wes for being such a great guide.

Visited June 2014

Great tour and tour guide

 
 
Reviewed August 25, 2014
 
 

Having arrived in the area in an RV we did not want to drive all over the place to view Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse (and we would not have been able to see some of the area because the RV is too big to get through the coolest tunnels)!

We took the tour to the two mountain carvings, and to Custer State Park (saw hundreds of buffalo), and the wine tasting.

We never felt herded like some tour groups do. Your personal tastes will determine if you get to spend enough time at Mt. Rushmore and/or Crazy Horse. I could have used more time at Rushmore and less at Crazy Horse while someone we were with felt just the opposite.

The lunch at the lodge at the state park was good - plenty of options at the buffet. And the wine tasting was an interesting place (wine snobs may look down on it).

Our particular tour had 9 tourists in the van (with room for 2 more) and lasted from about 8am to 4pm. Water and soda was provided free in the van. Stops were frequent enough for stretching and bathroom breaks.

Visited August 2014